London plus supports TBA Adv Tkts £8 OTD £10

The story of London

London is a four piece punk band formed in London in 1976. The original line-up was Riff Regan (vocals), Steve Voice (bass/vocals), Jon Moss (drums) and Dave Wight (guitar). Jon Moss had briefly been the drummer in The Clash before leaving to form London.

In 1977 they recorded two singles, a 4 track EP and an album ‘Animal Games’ for MCA Records. Most of their songs were written by Riff Regan (including the first two singles ‘Everyone’s a Winner’ and ‘Summer of Love’) or by Riff Regan and Steve Voice. All their records were produced by Simon Napier-Bell (who was also their manager) at the IBC Studios in London.

They toured extensively throughout 1977, including a major UK tour with The Stranglers. Their final gig was at the Marquee Club in Wardour Street on the 8th December 1977. The band broke up shortly afterwards and MCA released their album ‘Animal Games’ in early 1978.

Following the split, Jon Moss first joined The Damned and then formed Culture Club with Boy George. Riff Regan released solo records on MCA and Epic before becoming a comedy writer under his real name of Miles Tredinnick; Steve Voice formed a new band The Original Vampires and Dave Wight following stints in Metro and Holly and the Italians reverted to his real name of Colin Wight and became an academic (recently appointed Professor of International Relations at Sydney University). Simon Napier-Bell went on to manage George Michael and Wham! before becoming a best selling author.

The band returned in 2008 with original members Riff Regan (vocals) and Steve Voice (bass/vocals) as well as new Londoners Hugh O’Donnell (guitar/vocals) and Colin Watterston (drums). The band released a new studio album Reboot in 2012. In 2015 Rick De’Ath joined the band on bass/vocals and Steve Voice moved to guitar.

MCA Records released the original band’s one and only vinyl album, Animal Games, in 1978.

London The Punk Rock Collection, a CD containing all their MCA recordings, was released on the Captain Oi! label in 1997.

Get Out of London – a live official bootleg CD came out in 2010 on Pun77K Records.

Reboot – was released in 2012 on CD and iTunes on Bin Liner Records.